Wild West Ranch and RV Resort


$15.00 per night, starting at.

Instant Book Available

Wild West Ranch and RV Resort has sites available for Instant Book. When you select Instant Book, your reservation will be automatically approved.

Any non-Instant Book sites will still require campground approval.

Choose Your Site
Save to Favorites

860 S John Wayne Parkway, Maricopa, AZ, 85139


Located at the entry to the Sonoran Desert National Monument, Wild West Ranch & RV Resort is about a 45 minute drive south of Phoenix. Once owned by legend John Wayne, the Wild West Ranch has a number of activities like shuffleboard, horseshoe tosses as well as a number of scenic hiking and biking nature trails. Local attractions in Maricopa include opulent casinos like Harrah's, the Rawhide Western Town, and places where you can go hot-air ballooning. With so much raw nature to enjoy and plenty of urban attractions, there's something for everyone at the Wild West Ranch and RV Resort!

Amenities include big rig access, full RV hookups, water, sewer, and electricity, WIFI, showers and you can get RV washes on campus. Hope to see you soon!

 



RV Site
Instant Book Available

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
RV Site $30.00 $210.00 Choose Your Site
Primtive Tent Site
Instant Book Available

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
Primitive Tent Site $15.00 $105.00 Choose Your Site

Monthly Stay

All inclusive except electricity; billed additionally at $0.16 kWh.


30 Amps

50 Amps

Big Rig Friendly

Cable Hookups

Community Restrooms

Community Showers

Laundry Facilities

Pet Friendly

Propane Refilling Station

Sewer Hookups

Water Hookups

WiFi

100 Amps

20 Amps

ADA Accessible

Back-in RV Sites

BBQ/Grill

Clubhouse

Community BBQ/Grill

Community Fire Pit

Drinking Water

Dump Station

Fire Pit

Fire Ring / Grill

General Store

Pets Allowed

Picnic Area

Picnic Table

Pull-Thru RV Sites

RV Hookup

RV Sanitation

Shower

Slide Outs

Toilet



Backpacking

Biking

Fishing

Golf

Hiking

Historic Sightseeing

Horseback Riding

Off-Roading/ATV

Scenic Drives

Shuffleboard

Stargazing

Wildlife Viewing

Beer/Wine Tasting

Hunting



55-plus

Big Rig Friendly

Extended Stay

Family Friendly

LGBTIQ Friendly

Pet Friendly

Remote Work Friendly

Rentals

RVing

Tent Camping





860 S John Wayne Parkway, Maricopa, AZ, 85139

Click to open the map


Overall Rating: 3.8


Dixie Green

1.0
BAD MEWS! We were never there because of Covid 19 AND though we tried to reach the RV Ranch they never responded and never returned our $149.50 deposit. We had planned on staying there next year but I think we’ll find a different place!!

Jeanne Thomas

3.0
Bit remote. Customer service was excellent, people were lovely and laundry facilities are exceptional. While there is a nice wine shop with a few other items, nearest grocery is about 10 miles away. Internet is spotty. Toilet and shower facilities a bit dark and dated.

Sharon O’Gorman

3.0
We spent 2 nights at the park. Laundry room clean and with well equipped machines. Wifi a bit weak, we were informed of this upon registering. The park itself looks a bit tired. Our planter box at our site was full of dead weeds. Could use a bit of landscaping and yard maintenance to make it more appealing.

Kim Nameth

3.0
I would give this place 5 stars if my review could only be about Lori. She was fantastic! That said, the smell of the dairy cows was really bad when we were there 2/17-2/18/2020. The laundry facility was well kept and the price was decent $2 to wash and $2 to dry. We didn’t use the showers. The RV spaces are very large. There isn’t much to see at this park, but we were just stopping for a couple of nights so it worked out for us. Clean.

Campground Response

Kim, thank you for your review! We love Lorie too, she's fantastic! I am sorry you encountered the cow smell. Thankfully and fortunately that smell is not present about 90% of the time...most of the time, it is not there. But every once in a while, a few times a month, the wind is blowing the opposite direction at feeding time (there is a dairy farm about 5 miles down the road), so rarely that smell is there. Thankfully and fortunately when that smell does come, it always goes within 5-30 minutes. It doesn't persist. I am sorry you happened to be here on one of those times! Glad every other aspect of your stay was great :-)


Philip Canfield

2.0
Clean toilets and showers. Friendly and very helpful staff (especially Lori.) Good sized and clean laundry. Sites and large and level. The reason for the 2 star rating is the smell. There is a dairy farm near by that milks 12,500 cows a day and feeds 52,000 steer. The resulting odor is beyond belief.

Jason DeCorte

4.0
The overall stay was good, they were out of propane and the showers keep shutting off every 15 seconds but the staff was friendly and they had a BBQ Friday night when we showed up which was nice .. the spaces are nice and large

Roger Studebaker

4.0
Great campsite. Easy access, clean facility. Internet a challenge

Andrew Gatzke

4.0
Great convenient park to Maricopa. Friendly owners. Only problem was no cold water at all. Cold water was Hot hot hot all the time during our stay. We have stayed here several times now, and we love it. We will be back.

Campground Response

Thank you for your review, Andrew! We are glad you enjoy your stay each time you come here! I apologize for the hot water, you must be visiting during the summer/warmer months. Unfortunately we can't control the hot Arizona weather, but we do have bags of ice for sale in the store ;-). Hope to see you and your family again soon! First bag of ice on the house!


David Dorsett

5.0
Had a nice quiet stay. So many things to see / do in the area. Big city close if you want, but we spent most of time walking the desert. Beautiful

Michelle Bordonaro

5.0
Greeted promptly on arrival, quiet

Dick Westover

5.0
Great value, great time, great place! We got a huge pull thru with 50 amp and free WiFi, friendly people and neighbors. Got a nice bottle of Prosecco in the office/store, juniper firewood for our fire, and had really great time! It’s a shame to see the negative reviews, it’s a neat and unique place that’s well taken care of. Emus are cool too!

Campground Response

Thank you Dick, for your wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time and for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon!


Earl Beatty

5.0
The people that are visiting are very friendly, the workers are even friendlier. Their shop/office has a great selection of snacks, Knick knacks, and some good looking wine. It’s well-kept and is a cozy place to go stay. Plugs at each site for campers, pop ups, tow behinds, and RVs. Hook up for water at each site also. Really nice clean bathrooms and showers. Firepit at night with great views.

Lorelei McBride

5.0
Wonderful RV park in beautiful desert park surroundings. Owner was a lovely young lady, brought us firewood and a picnic table. Very nice hike right out the back, lots of saguaro cacti. Great campfire location, great camping location! We really loved our time here- thank you Deanna!

Deanna A

5.0
Five stars

Daphne Garry

5.0
Amazing time at an amazing campground! I just had to leave a review after seeing some of these older ones. This campground is large and spread out and NICE. Beautiful and well cared for. I don’t know if it’s new owners but they definitely care and put a lot into making sure campers have a great time. We got fresh eggs delivered right to our site, and firewood every night delivered just by texting. It’s quiet, the bathrooms are clean and new. Everything looks new. We had a great time and will be back!

Campground Response

aww thank you Daphne! Your review is so much appreciated! We have been working hard to provide better service, the best service, and to go above and beyond when we can. Fresh eggs and firewood delivery and prompt text response are definitely some of the touches we like to provide :) Hope to see you again soon!


Erin Conaway

5.0
My young daughter and I have lived at Wild West for nearly a year now and we couldn't be happier to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The park is beautiful, the bathhouses/restrooms which are coded for additional security are cleaned and inspected on a daily basis and the showers are spacious! The FREE WI-FI is amazing, even with running two smart TV's and a tablet at the same time. The onsite laundry room is newly air conditioned and also immaculate. The office which was remodeled and just opened a few months ago is full of delicious treats, drinks, and just about every beer and wine your heart could desire. The owners, Nash & Deanna will bend over backwards to make your stay amazing with fire pits, grills and picnic tables. The neighbors have become family in a way you just can't get in a traditional neighborhood. The night skies away from all the lights are perfect for stargazing, enjoying the quiet or conversing with great people. You won't be disappointed when you come to visit!

Campground Response

Thank you, Erin for your wonderful review. We are thrilled your family enjoyed your stay with us :-)


Brenda Willis

1.0
Fellow RVers: STEER CLEAR OF THIS UNETHICAL PLACE. Our experience this past winter at Wild West Ranch & RV Park (formerly John Wayne RV Ranch, LLC) in Maricopa, Arizona We paid a $100.00 deposit via credit card to this campground on 11/10/2017 for a month's stay beginning on 12/18/2017. Upon arrival, we wrote a check for $400.00 for the monthly rent. We left the campground on 1/13/2018, and my husband had made arrangements earlier in the week to return for another month beginning on 1/28/2018. Our credit card was charged by the campground for our electricity usage through 1/13/2018 on 1/29/2018. The amount charged was overstated, and a credit was issued to our card for the difference. We had not authorized this charge. Upon our return to Wild West on 1/28/2018, we wrote another check for $400.00 to cover the month ending on 2/28/2018. (At this time, our initial $100.00 deposit is still on the books as a credit). On the morning of our departure, March 1, 2018 we discovered the campground had charged our credit card 5 times between 10:57 and 11:08 am on 1/28/2018 for a total of $80.00 for electricity usage. We had not authorized this charge. We went to the office to inquire and ask for a final invoice along with the return of the deposit since it had not been used. I was told we would not receive our deposit because we owed money to the campground. We totally disagree with this and they have offered no proof of it. The owner Deanna R. Wilson-Alkateeb (wife) was offsite and would only communicate via text. The owner Naji Alkateeb (husband) was onsite but offered nothing but insults to my husband. As of this post, we have yet to receive any communication from the campground and our many emails and texts continue to go unanswered. We have filed a complaint with BBB-Arizona. A complaint has been filed with our bank as well. It turns out, this is not an isolated incident, and other campers have had similar problems involving the return of deposits and unauthorized credit card charges. There are several reviews out there. CAUTION: DO NOT USE YOUR CREDIT CARD WITH THIS CAMPGROUND!

Campground Response

These people left for a couple weeks, and set up rocks around the site they were in, to save it for themselves upon their return. Nobody was able to use the site for those 2 weeks. Upon check out they wouldn't and didn't pay their balance.


Cheryl Libby

3.0
We stayed for two months, paid our rent and paid our electric. Things were ok for the most part. Met a lot of nice people. Our problem is that we can't get our credit due us from the electric deposit of $100.00. After leaving message after message after message, we finally went to the office at the campground to check on our refund. At that time, we were told it usually takes 30 days and will be refunded back to the card with which we paid the deposit on. That is all fine, but why couldn't someone just call me back and communicate this to us. We left on January 2nd, 2018 and it is now February 15, and we still have do not have our credit. I have left two messages since our visit to the office on 2/5/18 to let them know we still do not have our credit and once again, there has been no response. We do not appreciate the lack of communication with the manager or the owners. Obviously, someone doesn't care about the situation once the customer checks out. Also, besides the reviews you read on here and elsewhere, we met another camping couple at another campground and they stayed at Wild West RV Resort 6 years ago and they never received a response from the owner and have not, to this day, received their credit for their electric bill. I don't understand how a person can run a business in the manner these seem to run theirs and feel good about themselves.

Campground Response

Cheryl, I am so sorry about your communication issues. We have implemented new systems and have hired more employees to ensure everybody is taken care of promptly, and to ensure all electrical refunds are refunded the same day as check out. We apologize and strive to always make things right and better.


Patty Kane

1.0
Unethical Owners. After contacting them three times for deposit back due to husband's illness, I still have not received my deposit back. I cancelled two months prior to our stay in January. I now believe all the bad reviews! Do not do business with this RV park.

Campground Response

No Patty, that's not what happened. You called the day of your reservation and upon hearing you wouldn't get a refund (but we did graciously extend your deposit amount to any future stay!), suddenly your husband is ill, your cat died, you have schizophrenia, whatever your excuses. The main thing was how nasty you were to our host. Kindness goes a long way, Patty!


Jane Gary

5.0
After calling dozens of RV parks, this is the only one that did not have any restrictions on age or occupancy, and it was the most inexpensive! Due to mechanical issues we arrived after midnight, and the owner was nice enough to get out of bed and show us to our spot. We stayed January-May with our 5 children age range 12-4 and all of us were sad to go. So peaceful and quiet. It's perfect for the low maintenance traveler who wants to just relax and enjoy the beauty of the Sonoran desert. I felt safe here with the kids while my husband attended school in Phoenix (an easy commute.) The only drama was residents who refused to pay had to be removed from the park, but that didn't affect us. About a quarter of the park are long termers who are either helpful or keep to themselves. The landscaping is nice with mature trees that provide shade and a citrus orchard. Clean bathrooms and large laundry facility. The office also seconds as a small convenience store. Oversized slips, plenty of walking trails and desert area to explore. Amazing sunset views of Tabletop Mountain and huge saguaro cacti. The kids enjoyed movie nights in the clubhouse, riding their bikes around the park, and plenty of nights around campfires with new friends. We have nothing but great memories of our time here.

Campground Response

Thank you Jane, for your kind & thoughtful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back soon!