Camp Venice

(39) Reviews

$55.00 USD per night, starting at.

Instant Book Available

Camp Venice will be alerted immediately and will approve your reservation after checking availability.

Save to Favorites

4085 East Venice Avenue, Venice, FL, 34292

Camp Venice is a big rig and pet friendly campground located on 4085 East Venice Avenue in Venice, FL. The site includes WiFi, water, sewer, electricity, laundry facilities. You can also do activities such as Biking, canoeing, scenic drives, swimming outdoors, and boating.

Last Updated: 03/27/2023

RV Sites

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
30 Amp & Water $55.00 $300.00 $850.00 See More Choose Your Site
Non River $60.00 $330.00 $1,000.00 See More Choose Your Site
Preserve $71.00 $391.00 $1,200.00 See More Choose Your Site
Pull Thru $71.00 $391.00 $1,200.00 See More Choose Your Site
River $77.00 $430.00 $1,300.00 See More Choose Your Site

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
Storage $2.00 $14.00 $40.00 See More Choose Your Site

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
Cabins - No bathroom $125.00 Choose Your Site

Check In and Check Out

Check out time: 11:00 am and Check in time: 1 pm. Please stop and check in if you arrive during office hours.

Quiet Time

Quiet Time: 11:00 pm to 7:00 am.


Disorderly conduct and obscene language or disturbing the peace of your neighbors will not be tolerated at any hour and is grounds for eviction.


All pets must be accompanied by their owner, leashed and under control at all times. Pets must be kept quiet after 11:00 pm. You must clean up after your pet immediately, even on your own site. If you are found not complying with this rule you will be fined $50.00 for the first violation and will be asked to leave the park if the second violation occurs. No excessive barking will be permitted at any time. Management reserves the right to refuse any aggressive breed.


An adult must be responsible at all times for the safety and conduct of children living at or visiting your site.

Pool Rules

NO LIFEGUARD ON DUTY. Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult at all times. Pool hours are from dawn to dusk. NO PETS OR GLASS inside the pool fencing. Please shower before entering the pool. No one may adjust the pool temperature.


All fires must be contained in a fire pit. You may check out a firepit from the office; a deposit is required. DO NOT dump ashes on the ground or in the dumpster. Firewood is available for $6 for a small bundle and $10 for a large bundle. Please check at the office. RED FLAG WARNING - if Sarasota County issues a red flag warning fires will not be permitted until the ban is lifted.


DO NOT FEED ALLIGATORS. If caught, you will be asked to leave the park. No swimming except in the pool! Please be mindful when walking near the water and along the trails that this is Florida and where there is water there are alligators and snakes. Do not let your children or pets near the water’s edge. By staying here, you, your family and your guests assume all risks associated with wildlife.

Fireworks, Firearms, Firecrackers

Fireworks, Firearms, Firecrackers are all prohibited in the park.

Vehicles, Boats and Trailers

Each site is allowed 2 vehicles. Trailers and boats are not permitted on site. Storage is available for an additional fee. Guests must park in the parking lot near the front office.

Trash Service

Pull-Thru RV Sites

Picnic Area

Slide Outs


RV Sanitation

RV Hookup

Picnic Table

Pets Allowed

Community Showers

Community Restrooms


30 Amps

50 Amps


Big Rig Friendly

Dump Station

Fire Pit

Laundry Facilities

Pet Friendly

Propane Refilling Station

Sewer Hookups

Water Hookups



Kayaking & Canoeing





Scenic Drives

Swimming Outdoors

Pet Friendly

Family Friendly

Extended Stay

Big Rig Friendly

4085 East Venice Avenue, Venice, FL, 34292
Click to open the map

Overall Rating: 3.7

Dwayne Grablewski

I just can't thank Camp Venice enough. While we didn't plan our visit, we most definitely enjoyed it! The staff is one of a kind. They worked diligently to give us a spot. See, we broke down right before the exit to the campground on a Sunday. Mitchell , one of the staff members let us in and once we explained our circumstances he immediately called the office and they made a place for us!! Unbelievable! Prime time in florida at that!!! The campground is quiet, it's got a nice pool, wifi and channels that actually come on over the antenna . I don't have the words to tell y'all just how wonderful this place is. Thanks for everything Holly, Mitchell and the rest of the staff ❤️ I

James King

Over priced and dirty. Showers and laundry facilities were filthy. I realize the storms had an effect on the surroundings but that is no excuse for charging over a hundred dollars a night for a dirty campsite.

Robert Lewis

Considering that this place just went thru the nitemare known as hurricane IAN it was in pretty good shape.We enjoyed our stay,the place was packed full.I chuckeled a little when they asked if i needed fire wood as I also went thru IAN& like them had an over abundance of firewood material. We will be back

Campground Response

Thank you for the review! We hope to see you back soon!

Jodi Rice

My husband and I love Camp Venice. Looking forward to our next stay.

Campground Response

Thank you for the great review!

Peter McChesney

Wonderful spot. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Campground Response

Thank you for the great review!

Gary & Susan Fearnow

I am writing one more bad review. The roads are dusty. But the road back to the campground is long and dusty. What the campground should tell you is to drive in the middle of that road because there is a tree sticking out that will tear your awning off. This campground knows this and should be telling people about it. They have had several campers come in and have complained about why she didn’t tell about it and just stay in the middle of the road. And about the phone system. They just don’t answer the phone. I’ve been in the office many times where they just don’t pick , are they leave it on the answering machine where they don’t have to pick it up. Or they just leave early and don’t care. Welp that’s just Camp Venice for you. Like I said, I got a lot more websites to put this. My advice is go somewhere else.

Campground Response

This is the welcome letter guests receive when they are arriving at Camp Venice. I believe if you read it we do advise guests that the county road leading to the campground can be tricky to navigate. "Welcome to Camp Venice! Our address is 4085 E Venice Ave Venice FL 34292 Please use caution when traveling down E Venice Ave as the canopy can be tricky! Drive in the middle of the road! YOUR SITE #: 87 The Gate Code for March: The WIFI password: 56781234 Check-in time is at 1:00 p.m. Upon arrival you must stop by the office to check-in and pay any balance owed. Checkout time is at 11:00 a.m. and is strictly enforced. You will be charged $25 an hour for every hour you are late to checkout. At 1:00 p.m. if you are not gone, the park has the right to move your rig to storage to accommodate incoming guests. Please let the office know you are leaving and pay the electric bill. Fire pits and Firewood are available but need to be requested by: 1:00 pm to get it the same day M-F. 10 a.m. to get the same day on Saturday. No same day wood on Sunday, as we are closed. Fire pits are rented at $1.00 a day or $5 a week and $10 for the month. Firewood is sold at $10.00 for a large bundle. $6.00 for a small bundle. Ice is available for $3.00 a bag and is located by the office & upper shower house. If you arrive after office hours your map will be on the bulletin board to the right of the office door. If your map isn’t there, go to to view our map. Please check-in the following day when the office is open. Thank you and we hope you enjoy your stay! " As for the phone system, we have the same single line phone that the former Camp Venice Retreat utilized. If we are on a call or with a guest it will go to our voicemail, as we offer our full attention to those standing in our office. To imply we do not return phone calls is ridiculous; we are thanked regularly that we do return calls, as most campgrounds do not if they do not have availability the potential guest may be looking for. The office hours are clearly posted and adhered to. If we need to leave the office to address an issue in the park there is a note left on the door. Thanks for your thoughts.

Pamela Lindenman

Nice place to stay & the other people staying were very friendly. My only complaint (reason for 4 stars instead of 5) was that it's hard to stay in touch with them while on the road. The phone number goes to voice main & Rover Pass isn't the easiest thing to navigate while traveling, harder than email. Rover Pass is fairly easy via computer but a tad different via phone. If you are extremely phone savvy, you'll be alright but if you don't use your phone for all things, you might find it inconvienent like we did.

Campground Response

Thank you for the review. As for the phones we have a single line and with the increase in call volume (due to other parks not being open yet or permanently closed due to hurricane) we are doing the best we can to return the calls in the order they are received. We do a lot of communicating with our customers through Roverpass as it keeps track of the conversations and the customers can look back if they forget any information. We hope to see you back soon!

Tom Schultz

Quiet, Friendly, dusty. Sewer connections done correctly to allow hose to drain, Office friendly while undergoing re-build after hurricanes in 2022. Next door to Snook Haven.

Campground Response

Thank you for the review!

Daniel Armstrong

Great location. Less than 5 miles to Braves spring training. Nice and quiet. Starting to show its age here and there and needs some upgrades, but baths and pool were clean. Arrived 7:30 on Sat after office was closed (no problem finding spot), office is closed Sundays per sign. It was also locked up all day Monday. We left Tuesday morning so we never actually saw any staff. We received their automated requests for check in and reminders about rules via text and link to e-mail. It would have been nice to be forewarned by text about the Boil Water notice. Campground is right next to Snook Haven, an iconic fish camp/tavern with music, and directly across the road is a nice public park and boat launch on the river. We were given a WiFI password but there was no signal.

Campground Response

Thank you for your review!

Ray Cuzzone

Retreat is the appropriate name. We have been coming to this campground for over 20 years. Nice size sites, lots of old oak trees and palms. Nice heated pool and always very quiet at night. Many sites are along an inlet leading to the river. Even with this campground getting hit hard by a hurricane this summer they have the place cleaned up and almost back to its original charm.

Campground Response

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back soon!

John Scott

The Park itself is nice. Spacious camp sites and lush grounds.

Campground Response

Thank you for your review.

Ronnie & Betsy Gumbert

We are in our third month here in camp Venice and I am praying that this month drags on slowly because I will be so sad to leave….. and already can’t wait till next year!! Camp Venice has “An Old Florida atmosphere”, that is hard to come by and we are so fortunate to have found this hidden gem. Yes, it has dirt roads, and the entry road, which is a County responsibility needs some maintenance, but it all falls into the camping experience! …. It’s not an Oceanview Resort. Thank you to the entire staff , from management to the grounds crew , for making this stay so pleasant and enjoyable!!!

Campground Response

Thank you for the review. You guys are such a pleasure every year and I hope we get to continue to make memories for many more years.

Jim Oswald

Always have a great time here

Campground Response

Thank you for the great review! Come back soon!

Eric W

We enjoyed our stay. The entry road is tricky. Take your time as the canopy is tight. Staff was friendly and Snook Haven was close wirh good food and live music.

Campground Response

I'm happy to see that you guys enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will come back soon!

Richard French

Very disappointed in this campground and we will not return. The 1/2 mile road to get there is dusty and a washboard. The park roads are all sand and what a mess this is for everything. The photos are very deceiving. This is the worst park we have ever been in.

Campground Response

Richard, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am addressing your issues that are entirely hurricane related, 1) the road to the park, E. Venice Avenue, is a county maintained road. We have been working to get the road permanently replaced after it was heavily damaged due to the hurricane. If you were not aware, Hurricane Ian hit our area and the roads in the park and leading to the park were washed away. We have had to bring in 24 trucks of road base to restore the roadways and will be finishing the roads after season ends; we cannot complete it due to the traffic within the park during season. 2) The photos on our website are a true representation of the park prior to Hurricane Ian. We hope this helps you understand the devastation that we experienced.

Dan Deegan

Nice quiet campground. Plenty of room on the sites. Only drawback is road going into campground is dirt, narrow and a little rough. Hidden gem.

Campground Response

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. As for E. Venice Avenue, we are working with Sarasota County to have them repair the road permanently. The hurricane caused havoc on the entire area. We hope your travels bring our way again soon!

Greg Kachner

They are still cleaning up after the hurricane in October, 2022. The office was destroyed inside and lots of debris around. That said, the office lady was delightful and helpful. We were in the smaller side which was ok. The little camp store had nothing in it since the hurricane flooded the whole campground between 4 and 8 feet. This was probably a very nice place before the flood.

Campground Response

Thank you for your review and acknowledging how much water we were under. We are working daily to get the park 100%. With that being said most of the parks near us are destroyed, not opened or are just reopening. Our goal was making sure we could get the park reopened fast for our annual tenants, the workers that came to help restore our community, people who have lost their homes and for our snowbirds that come every year and making sure they had bath houses to use, a laundry room to wash their clothes and a pool to swim in and a boat launch to use. The office will be the last thing restored. We hope you enjoyed your stay and come back again to see what it looked like before the hurricane.

Kathy Colon

The park is very tranquil, but sites are very close together. When it rains, everything is wet and roads have a LOT of water everywhere.

Campground Response

The tranquility is what we enjoy about Camp Venice to. Some sites are bigger then others. Our pull thru sites have more depth then width to accommodate bigger rigs. Most of our sites accommodate 4 slides. We are between two preserves and off the Myakka River when it rains we do get very wet. With the wetness aside we hope you enjoyed your stay.

kathy corbin

We absolutely love Camp Venice and everyone in it. From the staff to the residents, there is friendliness and amazement every single day.

Campground Response

Thank you for the great review! We couldn't agree more!

Keith Knaack

If I can give a zero rating, that’s what I’d do. We arrived at 3:15 pm. The office was closed and our map and info was not on the bulletin board. Fortunately the customer’s map for site 27 was there so we could at least see where our site 116 was at. We hooked to the electrical box. No power. We the hooked to 115’s electrical box as no one was in that site. No power. Called the office number, left a message that there is no power at either box. It’s quite warm so we started our generator for the air conditioner. After about 15 minutes a gentleman comes, looks at our box, saw there was no power. Said he would check the main box. Never saw him again. Later I called the office to ask the status of the situation and got no response. After 2 hours we decided to shut our generator off. At that time we had power. The next day 2/1/23 we left in the morning and returned in the afternoon and we couldn’t get in the gate. The gate code they gave us when we arrived on 1/31/23 did not work anymore. Fortunately there was some other camper at the gate and told us they change the code every month. This information was not given to us. When we went into our rv we had no power again. Once again we started our generator as it was warm inside. Called the office and they said they were working on it. I explained all this to Holly and asked if we could get some compensation for having to run our generator. She said she couldn’t do anything herself but would let Her boss know our issues. We were there for 2 nights 1/31 and 2/1. The morning of 2/2 as we were leaving I called and spoke to Holly’s boss. I tried explaining everything and she cut me off saying our map was out there. I kept telling her it wasn’t there at 3:15 when we came in on 1/31. She was very rude and said what do you want from me. I said some compensation for running our generator twice. She said she would credit us $10.00 and rudely thanked us for staying with them and promptly hung up. That was yesterday. I checked our credit card statement today and there is no credit applied. This is the worst experience and treatment we’ve ever had at a campground. It was the worse $177.00 spent for 2 nights. I hope the owner reads this review. DO NOT STAY AT THIS CAMPGROUND…

Campground Response

We are sorry that you had a bad experience. All maps are put out at night for late arrivals but is not needed. People have been known to take the wrong map. Some people come to see the park and think they can take the maps and some people take them for many different reasons. With that being said this is why we message everyone personally on Rooverpass so they have all information ahead of time. Our map is also on our website for anyone who needs it. As far as the electric being off when you came, you said you called the office but it was closed for the night. All emergency/after hour numbers are located on the office door for your availability. Yes, the power was out as the main power box went out. Within 30 min it was restored until the next day when the electric company came to replace the main power box. ( they had it off for less then 2 hours ) About the gate code, again, we communicate with everyone through Rooverpass and I just looked at your account you were sent a chat 1/31/23 at 12:17 "The February gate code is ****". As far as compensation goes I do see that you were given a refund of $10.00 for having to run your generator. This may take a few days to get. If you would like to call and talk CALMLY we can see if we can assist you further.