The Hideout at Glenwood Springs

(26) Reviews

$40.00 per night, starting at.

Instant Book Available

The Hideout at Glenwood Springs will be alerted immediately and will approve your reservation after checking availability.

to
Save to Favorites

1293 County Road 117, Glenwood Springs, CO, 81601

Nestled between a national forest and the banks of 3-Mile Creek, the Hideout at Glenwood Springs offers 42 full hookup RV sites, 15 cabins, and several summer tent sites in a beautiful natural setting minutes from downtown Glenwood Springs. Access to WIFI is free throughout the park. The Hideout even has two corporate ski passes for Sunlight Mountain, a local ski resort, that park residents and guests can use. Note that all sites are back-in only. Extended stay housing and short-term rentals are both available.

Originally founded by Fur Traders in 1888, the Hideout maintains the original serenity up to this day, while bordering Glenwood Springs with all its amenities and fun. Our 9 acres of grounds are surrounded by rivers and national forest. There is plenty of outdoor fun to be had which include hiking, mountain biking, skiing, gold medal waters, hot springs, and more.

Glenwood Springs was home to the indigenous Ute Tribe, for whom the hot springs were sacred. Giving the settlement its name, they are still central to the essential Glenwood experience today. In past, they attracted settlers in the wild west days, who founded Defiance, a settlement with saloons, brothels, cabins and tents in 1883. Defiance was shortly after renamed Glenwood Springs, became a trading center, and started to attract tourists as early as the late 18th century. President Theodore Roosevelt and Molly Brown vacationed at the Hotel Colorado, today a local historic landmark. Buffalo Bill visited often, and Doc Holliday died at the Glenwood Hotel and still haunts the town’s graveyard every October.

Whether its for a short and or long term stay, a weekend getaway or simply a quick stop by, we hope to see you soon!

 

 

Last Updated: 05/08/2021


Water & Electric RV Sites

Max Site Length 20'

These sites are suitable for small RVs.

There is tank fill water available at each site. Extra vehicles are considered after the RV and tow vehicle.  Please note that overflow parking for extra vehicles is located away from the site.

 

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
Large RV Site $50.00 $850.00 See More Choose Your Site
Small RV Sites $40.00 $850.00 See More Choose Your Site
Full Hook Up RV Sites

Max Site Length 20'

 

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
Full Hook Up RV Sites $75.00 $845.00 See More Choose Your Site
Large Tent Site - No Electrical

Max Site Length 20'

Extra vehicles consider anything beyond one vehicle per site.  There is room for one vehicle on the site and overflow parking is located away from the site.

All sites have 24-hour access to clubhouse, bathhouse, and laundry facilities. 

Each site comes with a picnic table, fire pit, and wifi. 

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
Large Tent Site - No Electrical $20.00 Choose Your Site
Large Tent Site - w/ Electrical

Max Site Length 20'

Extra vehicles consider anything beyond one vehicle per site.  There is room for one vehicle on the site and overflow parking is located away from the site.

All sites have 24-hour access to clubhouse, bathhouse, and laundry facilities. 

Each site comes with a picnic table, fire pit, and wifi. 

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
Large Tent Site - With Electrical $40.00 Choose Your Site
Small Creekside Tent

Extra vehicles consider anything beyond one vehicle per site.  There is room for one vehicle on the site and overflow parking is located away from the site.

All sites have 24-hour access to clubhouse, bathhouse, and laundry facilities. 

Each site comes with a picnic table, fire pit, and wifi. 

Options Starting Daily Starting Weekly Starting Monthly
Small Creekside Tent $20.00 $210.00 $850.00 See More Choose Your Site

Fires

Fires are allowed in park-supplied fire pits only. Wood and charcoal fires only.

Pet Restrictions

Up to 2 pets are allowed with prior approval. Pets must be on leashes at all times while on the premises. Camper is responsible for cleaning up after their pets and will be assessed clean-up charges when failing to do so. Park Management reserves the right to refuse access to the premises for aggressive pets.

Extra Vehicles

There is room for 1 RV and tow vehicle per RV Site and 1 vehicle per Tent Site. Additional vehicles beyond that will need to be parked in the overflow parking away from the site.


Laundry Facilities

WiFi

30 Amps

50 Amps

Back-in RV Sites

RV Hookup



Backpacking

Biking

Fishing

Hiking

Horseback Riding

Kayaking & Canoeing

Scenic Drives

Snow Sports

White-Water Rafting

Whitewater Rafting & Kayaking



Extended Stay

Rentals

Family Friendly

RVing

Tent Camping





1293 County Road 117, Glenwood Springs, CO, 81601
Click to open the map

Enjoy nearby attractions such as:

  • Three hot springs resorts
  • Skiing
  • Hiking and mountain biking
  • Fishing and Hunting 
  • Prince Creek, Wolfeson, Marble, Fruita, Red Mountain and Glenwood Canyon
  • Hanging Lake, Colorado River and Roaring Fork River
  • Frontier Museum
  • Doc Holliday Collection
  • Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
  • Annual RiverFEST
  • Aspen
  • Carbondale 



Overall Rating: 3.3


Mariusz Okinczyc

5.0
Excellent

Lindsey Brock

4.0
Just 10 minutes from downtown Glenwood Springs but feels secluded amongst the trees and with the creek. Great price. The bathroom in the clubhouse has a sliding door that is too small for the opening and bathroom itself had not been maintained (overflowing trash and no paper towels to dry my hands). The map on the door shows a shower located at the clubhouse but I did not see one. Laundry ($2.75 to wash and $1.50 to dry) and wifi on site. Campsite was small but had a picnic table. Overall great for my one night needs in Glendood Springs.

Dylan Reel

2.0
Not too good of an experience for us. When we arrived to our “tent” site we found out there wasn’t any kind of pad to put our tent down on unless we wanted to sleep on the gravel. Not to mention there were huge piles of mulch that had not been spread out right next to our campsite. I ended up reserving another large tent site for $50 and the power/water didn’t even work and couldn’t even shower at the place. I paid over $70 to camp in a tent for one night on some hard ground and there was no one to talk to or discuss the matter with on the property either. I wish I would’ve known the tent sites were nothing more than a gravel path with a picnic table beforehand. And I’ve stayed at hundreds of campgrounds all over the country and this one was one of the worst I’ve stayed at in a long time. If it wasn’t for the friendly people also staying in the park this place would’ve been a total sham.

Riley Hellmann

5.0
No complaints. Tent spot next to the gurgling stream was perfect.

Mokshana Zauber

5.0
We camped here for a few days to ski at Sunlight and had a great experience! Quiet, close to skiing and more!

David Rhine

5.0
I spent 3 nights here while skiing in Aspen and had a great stay. I didn't see or meet any of the staff while staying due to COVID restrictions, glad to see the Hideout doing their part in keeping everyone safe. The showers and bathroom were clean, and laundry machines were aplenty and worked well. I did think the laundry was a little spendy, 2.75 for the washer 1.75 for the dryer but I haven't used a laundromat in a long time so maybe that's standard.

Adam Nightser

5.0
Great spot

Aaron

4.0
In an overpriced and overbuilt Roaring Fork Valley, places like the Hideout are gems. The property and bathrooms could use some upkeep and more cleaning, but for the location and price, you can’t beat it. If you need it to be “nice”then pay to stay somewhere else. If you want it to be what Colorado used to be (Rare to find around here) then this is your place. Everyone we met, tenants and staff, were friendly. Tent camping spots are the best location, next to the creek. Wifi is so-so but better in the indoor lounge area. If you need easy access tent camping next to Glenwood short term, this is it.

Kathy Mayer

4.0
The Hideout is rustic, eclectic and maybe isn’t exactly sure what it is. The cabins, tiny houses, longterm RVs, short term RVs and campers were all mixed together. I prefer a place that has separate locations for each function. We arrived late afternoon and went directly to our site D4. I liked the online check-in process. The sight was along the trickling brook. I assumed that the low water level was due to the winter season. There is evidence that the flow is greater during the spring and summer snow run off. Our sight was nice and level with a pea gravel and wood mulch covering. It seemed very clean to walk on. The site was equipped with a fire pit, nice clean picnic table, electricity and during warmer weather water. The D sites are classified as camping sites but since our trailer is very small, 13 feet, we were able to use one. The owner, Beau, is very friendly and helpful. We were having some difficulty backing into the spot and Beau immediately offered to get his small tractor used to move RVs. In no time he was able to get the trailer perfectly situated. We were not aware that there would be no water at the site. When our 12 gallon fresh water tank was empty, Beau brought water to us. The day we left it was snowing heavily and Beau was out early plowing the roads so that everyone in the park could come and go easily The location was handy to the hot springs and shopping. The club house was quite nice and welcoming. This is the location of the laundry which was very clean. I used the one bathroom in the clubhouse and it was always clean and fresh. However, in the four days we were there, there was always soap and hot water but never any hand towels. The toilet door is a barn door sliding type and it doesn’t quite cover the door space. A piece of molding on each side would solve that problem. My husband used the toilet in the bath house but he was unable to find any form of lights and had to use a flash light both day and night. There was a lot of construction and equipment lying around but I assumed that was because we were there during the off season and they were trying to get maintenance done before getting snowed under. Would I return? Beau’s helpfulness, the extreme friendliness of all the staff and the condition of our particular site were very positive. I would like to see the place during the spring and summer because I think that foliage makes an extreme difference to the look and esthetics.

Greg Pfeiffer

1.0
Do NOT give these people your business. They are crooks and the place is terrible, don’t be fooled by some of their photos that makes it look decent. I parked my van there for a month, and while did give me a good location for easy access to downtown where I worked, the place was disgusting! I have now been fighting them for three months to get my deposit back and they have chosen to ignore me, so I now have to get legal representation - save yourself the trouble... don’t give them business. Just not the way to run a business and “Beau” has claimed to be the owner then said owners are in CA... so who knows. Don’t be fooled into their “lease scheme”...

Campground Response

Hi Greg. All our lease agreements include a 30-day notice period, including the agreement you signed when you moved in. This enables us to plan for vacancies. When we don't receive notice ahead of a move-out tenant accounts incur a rent charge for the notice period. It's unfortunate that this has given you a negative impression of the Hideout. We'll continue to do our best to give tenants clear channels to communicate with us.


Julie Stiles

1.0
Definitely not what was advertised online

Jill Hollister

1.0
Inadequate signage to your site and bathrooms, not so clean bathrooms, and no water available at our campsite. Plus, construction materials are scattered throughout the property including an exposed electrical wire.

Whitney Swanson

1.0
It seems like this place is evolving into a cool little tiny house and RV park, though if you're a tent camper, this place is not geared towards you. The clubhouse was under construction and the bathrooms and showers don't seem to be cleaned on any regular schedule and were pretty dirty. We showered at the Hot Springs and didn't even try it at the campsite. A number of people let their dogs run loose and they would come into our campsite and poop around it and the dog owners didn't seem to care. It is close to some fishing access and to town so that was a plus. We won't tent camp here again...but if we were in an RV or wanted to stay in a cabin, that would be fine.

Brad S

2.0
I think I may have talked to one of the owners and she was really cool and nice. But the website is literally false advertising. We also overheard one of the owners/employees talking to the person camping next to us n figured out he was squatting. And then the lady who actually booked that site showed up and I didn’t know what to tell her. She ended up camping at an even smaller site. How are you gunna let that guy camp for free and talk about it loud enough in front of paying customers? And then leave that site open on your website for someone to book? Pretty lame. The location saves this place. (Also trash in our campsite, looked like a permanent resident rolled a blunt at our table, no soap in bathrooms during a pandemic). Mostly just bummed we had to pay when the guy next to us didn’t.

James Wessel

5.0
A HIDDEN GEM Cool wooded property. Excellent value. Busy campground and village. All residents seem friendly and private. If your looking for total seclusion try elsewhere. The Hideout is a great place to hang out during layoff...lots of cool birds, including a huge owl that greets latecomers to sites..close to all that Glenwood Springs has to offer. I imagine this would be a great place to stay and 🎿 Sunlight as it is 2 clicks away.

Campground Response

Thank you for your positive review! It sure is beautiful here at the Hideout!


Wendy Ruisinger

3.0
The public bathrooms were really gross and the shower had a wrench for a handle. The clubroom was somewhat nicer but it was super awkward to go to it felt like walking into someone's living room. Also that bathroom didn't have a real door so there were big gaps on each side and no lock. We had campsite d7 and the headlights from every car that entered after dark lit up our tents and we could here neighbors walking around on the gravel all night. On the plus side everyone there was very friendly and had nice dogs. Feels better for RVs would not recommend camping here.

Campground Response

Thank you for your input Wendy, we are looking to update a few odds and ends here around our park and this feedback helps. We hope you choose to stay again.


Tyler Ryan

5.0
My friend and I had campsite D4. The campsite was great! The owner of the hideout was very helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed talking with him! I highly recommend the hideout if you’re looking for a place to stay in Glenwood outside of a hotel!

Campground Response

Thanks Tyler for the great feedback! We are glad you really enjoyed your stay! looking forward to hosting you again!


Raven Taylor

3.0
Overall, for the price we paid, it was good. A few things to note that I wish was better: a map of the layout would have been nice. There was no communication, even though I left a message prior to arriving as I had additional questions, I never received a return phone call. I also sent a text the day I was arriving to ask questions, and still no response. Bo did a stop by later that evening after we arrived to welcome us, which I appreciated. But the communication before hand would’ve been nice too. The campsites are pretty close, so you will really get to know your neighbors. The sites aren’t shaded that well either. The bathhouse/showers need to be cleaned. I would rate the showers a 1. The water was warm but the overall cleanliness was horrible. 5 stars to Bo for recommending the best bike trails are.

Campground Response

We are sorry about the commutation issues you were having with us, we will figure out a better approach. I'm glad you had an overall good stay with us here at the Hideout!


Zarina Stankov

2.0
Location is great if you are biking to town. The hosts are nice too, however the whole site is littered with old equipment, pieces of stuff and they also have goats. The bathrooms are rarely cleaned and very dirty. I would consider this to be very important for a campsite.

Campground Response

Thank you for staying with us, your feedback is greatly appreciated.


Silvia Steimle

1.0
The place is terrible. We actually decided to go elsewhere. The campground is small, dirty, the sites are packed one on top of the next, the creek is so small it shouldn't even be advertised. So we left and went camping in the forest. If you are looking for nature and a true camping experience, do not book this place which is also super expensive!

Campground Response

Hi Silvia, sorry to hear the Hideout just wasn't for you. Mile Creek varies in depth due to the amount of water we get and it has been a very dry year, but the creek still flows.